MTM 18+

MTM 18+ was the first Media Technology Monitor study to launch nearly 20 years ago, making it one of the longest running and most trusted sources of information in the area of technology ownership and use in Canada. Based on over 12,000 telephone interviews annually with Canadians 18 years and older (including a cell-phone only sample), MTM 18+ has spoken with more than 200,000 Canadians over the years resulting in the most accurate and comprehensive media technology tracking survey of its kind.

High Quality,
Reliable Results
About ALL Canadians

Thanks to large sample sizes and a rigorous methodology, OTM 18+ clients have access to accurate and reliable data about ALL Canadians, allowing you to visualize data on a multitude of key demographic niches.

Large Sample Size Over Time

MTM 18+ data is based on interviews with over 12,000 Canadians, across two survey periods (Fall and Spring) with high response rates that exceed industry standards. The longevity of this study makes it unique in the industry, with nearly 20 years of data collection to build upon and over 200,000 respondents to help users understand changing media trends over time.

Two Language Markets

The MTM understands that Anlgophones and Francophones consume existing and new media technology differently. To ensure quality data for both official language groups, MTM 18+ surveys 6000 Anglophones and 6000 Francophones annually including Francophones living outside of Quebec and Anglophones inside of Quebec (OLMC).

Canadians from Coast to Coast to Coast

In addition to surveying Canadians from across all provinces and regions, MTM 18+ is now the ONLY media study to include respondents from the Northern territories as well. Promotional efforts for the Northern sample were made available in Inuktitut for maximum impact and participation.

More on Methodology

Questionnaires & Topics Guide

Clients have full access to past and current questionnaires and topics guides including variable IDs for more efficient analysis.

Reports

MTM 18+ provides users with approximately 70 executive level reports and infographics each year on a wide range of trends, activities and demographic groups written in both official languages.

View Reports

Free Training & Expert Advice

Whether you have questions about data, need a refresher on how to use the tools or want to introduce new team members to the product, training and expert support is included.

Unlimited Seats

Subscribers can either control access to key users with login credentials or provide access to the entire company through IP authentication free of charge.

Three Tools to Make the Data Work For You

While the reports provide insights at the highest level based on language market, MTM 18+ also provides subscribers with direct access to the data through three unique and interactive tools. These powerful but easy-to-use tools put data at the fingertips of the user for tailored insights about your target audiences and customers.

Data Analysis Tool (DAT)

The Data Analysis Tool (DAT) gives subscribers hands-on access to the massive data sets of MTM 18+ in a user-friendly format. The DAT makes it easy for businesses to zero in on the data they want and customize it to their needs through tailored analysis of thousands of variables. Past data sets dating back to 2016; multiple market options; and the ability to run frequencies and crosstabs all at the touch of a button helps to bring key insights to light.

Drag and Drop
Functionality

Multiple
Ouput Data Views

Run Multiple
Variables at Once

Intuitive
Search Options

Custom
Presets

Quick
Filters

Trending Tool

One of the strengths of MTM 18+ is its longevity, and the dynamic Trending Tool leverages the power of nearly 20 years of data in one place. This tool lets subscribers see how technologies and services have progressed over time giving users the ability to view the evolving penetration of hundreds of variables either by language market or by key demographics, technology ownership or other media behaviours.

Nearly 20 years of Reliable Data

Trend 100s of Technologies and Media Behaviours

Extensive Filtering Options

Multiple Output Options

Forecasting Tool

In a world where the media and technology landscape is constantly changing, understanding the interests of the Canadian consumer can be key to making strategic decisions for the future of your business. Leveraging a strong understanding of the media industry and building on the comprehensive datasets of the MTM, the Forecasting Tool provides users with a trusted source of technology projection.

5 Year Projections

Leverage the Expertise of Industry Experts

Forecasts for Both Official Language Markets

Close to 20 Technologies and Behaviours

Our Other Products

Check out our two other services Junior and Newcomers for a more in-depth analysis on young Canadians and people who have just arrived in Canada.

Junior

Target Sample: Francophone and Anglophone children between the ages of 2 to 17 years old from across all regions of Canada

MTM Jr. is the only survey of it’s kind in Canada which helps you to understand the media habits or your youngest audiences and consumers

Newcomers

Target Sample: Newcomers who have arrived in Canada in the last five years including students, refugees and landed immigrants

The newly launched MTM Newcomers brings the media, technology and leisure habits of Canada’s most diverse residents into focus

OTM 18+

L’OTM 18+ est la première étude de l’Observateur des technologies médias. Lancée il y a près de 20 ans, elle compte parmi les sources d’information les plus durables et les plus fiables sur l’adoption et l’utilisation d’appareils technologiques au Canada. Avec plus de 12 000 entrevues téléphoniques réalisées chaque année auprès de Canadiens de 18 ans et plus (y compris un échantillon de personnes possédant uniquement un cellulaire), l’OTM 18+ a sondé plus de 200 000 Canadiens au fil des ans, ce qui en fait l’enquête de suivi sur les technologies médias la plus précise et complète qui soit.

Des résultats fiables et
de grande qualité concernant
TOUS les Canadiens

Grâce à la taille importante de ses échantillons et à la rigueur de sa méthodologie, l’OTM 18+ offre à ses clients des données précises et fiables sur TOUS les Canadiens, leur permettant ainsi de visualiser des données sur une multitude de créneaux démographiques clés.

Échantillon de grande taille sur une longue période

Les données de l’OTM 18+ reposent sur des entrevues menées auprès de plus de 12 000 Canadiens. Les deux sondages (automne et printemps) ont des taux de réponse élevés qui surpassent les normes de l’industrie. La longévité de cette étude la rend unique dans le secteur : les utilisateurs ont accès à près de 20 ans de collecte de données auprès de plus de 200 000 répondants, ce qui leur permet de mieux comprendre l’évolution des tendances médiatiques au fil du temps.

Deux marchés linguistiques

L’OTM reconnaît que les anglophones et les francophones consomment les technologies médias actuelles et nouvelles de manière différente. Pour veiller à la qualité des données pour les deux groupes linguistiques, l’OTM 18+ sonde chaque année 6 000 anglophones et 6 000 francophones, y compris des francophones vivant hors du Québec et des anglophones du Québec (communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire).

D’un océan à l’autre

En plus de sonder des Canadiens de toutes les provinces et régions, l’OTM 18+ est actuellement la SEULE étude sur les médias qui comprend également des répondants des territoires du Nord. Concernant l’échantillon du Nord, l’effort promotionnel comprend un volet en inuktut pour une portée et une participation maximales.

Plus sur la méthodologie

Questionnaires et guides des sujets

Les clients ont accès à tous les questionnaires, anciens et actuels, ainsi qu’à des guides des sujets comprenant les identifiants de chaque variable pour rendre l’analyse plus efficiente.

Des centaines de rapports

Chaque année, l’OTM 18+ fournit aux utilisateurs environ 70 rapports et infographies sommaires sur un large éventail de tendances, d’activités et de groupes démographiques, rédigés dans les deux langues officielles.

Voir les rapports

Formation gratuite et conseils d’experts

Peu importe si vous avez des questions concernant les données, si vous avez besoin d’un rappel sur le fonctionnement des outils ou si vous souhaitez présenter le produit à d’autres membres de votre équipe, vous avez accès à de la formation et à du soutien d’experts.

Nombre illimité d’utilisateurs

Les abonnés peuvent choisir de limiter l’accès aux utilisateurs principaux au moyen d’identifiants de connexion ou d’offrir l’accès à toute l’entreprise au moyen d’une authentification par adresse IP, sans frais.

Trois outils pour tirer le maximum des données

Outre les rapports qui fournissent de l’information résumée pour chaque marché linguistique, l’OTM 18+ offre trois outils uniques et interactifs qui permettent aux abonnés d’accéder directement aux données. Grâce à ces outils à la fois puissants et faciles à utiliser, les utilisateurs ont les données à portée de main pour obtenir de l’information sur mesure concernant leurs auditoires et leurs clientèles cibles.

Outil d’analyse de données

L’outil d’analyse de données (OAD) offre aux abonnés un accès pratique aux importants volumes de données de l’OTM 18+ dans un format convivial. Avec l’OAD, les entreprises peuvent facilement se concentrer sur les données qu’elles recherchent et les adapter à leurs besoins au moyen d’une analyse personnalisable en fonction de milliers de variables. La possibilité d’accéder à des données remontant jusqu’à 2014, de choisir plusieurs marchés ainsi que d’appliquer des fréquences et des tabulations croisées en un seul clic vous permet de mettre en lumière des renseignements clés.

Fonction
glisser-déplacer

Options d'analyses
multiples

Analyses à
plusieurs variables

Fonction de
recherche intuitive

Préréglages
personalisés

Filtres
rapides

Outil d’évaluation des tendances

L’un des atouts de l’OTM 18+ est sa longévité, et l’outil d’évaluation des tendances mise sur la puissance de près de 20 ans de données réunies au même endroit. Cet outil dynamique permet aux abonnés de connaître l’évolution des technologies et des services au fil du temps et de visualiser les progrès des taux de pénétration selon des centaines de variables, que ce soit par marché linguistique ou par groupe démographique clé, sur le plan de la possession d’appareils technologiques ou d’autres comportements liés à la consommation des médias.

Près de 20 ans de données fiables

Des centaines de comportements liés aux technologies et aux médias

Nombreuses options de filtres

Options d’analyses multiples

Outil prévisionnel

Dans un monde où les médias et les technologies évoluent constamment, il est essentiel de comprendre les intérêts des consommateurs canadiens pour prendre des décisions stratégiques en prévision de l’avenir. S’appuyant sur de solides connaissances de l’industrie médiatique et tirant parti de toute l’étendue des données de l’OTM, l’outil prévisionnel constitue pour les utilisateurs une source fiable de projections dans le domaine des technologies.

Projections quinquennales

Soutien d’experts de l’industrie

Prévisions sur les deux marchés linguistiques

Près de 20 technologies et comportements

Nos autres produits

Jetez un coup d’œil à nos deux autres services, OTM Junior et Nouveaux arrivants, pour une analyse plus approfondie des habitudes des Canadiens âgés de 2 à 17 ans et des personnes venant tout juste d’arriver au Canada.

Junior

Échantillon cible : Enfants et adolescents francophones et anglophones de 2 à 17 ans, de toutes les régions du Canada

L’OTM Junior est le seul sondage de son genre au Canada, qui vous permet de connaître les habitudes de consommation des médias de vos plus jeunes auditoires et consommateurs.

Nouveaux arrivants

Échantillon cible : Personnes arrivées au Canada au cours des cinq dernières années : étudiants, réfugiés et immigrants admis

L’OTM Nouveaux arrivants, lancé récemment, brosse le portrait des habitudes en matière de médias, de technologies et de loisirs au sein de la catégorie de résidents du Canada qui présente la plus grande diversité./p>